Press release of the International J.M. Sperger Society,30.07.2018


Andreas Ehelebe (Germany) has won the first prize at the International J.M. Sperger Competition for Double Bass 2018. He was declared the winner after a concert of the 4 finalists on 29 July 2018 in Ludwigslust, Germany. He received a prize of €8500 donated by the Stiftung Sparkasse Mecklenburg-Schwerin.

The second prize to the value of €4500, donated by the Oscar und Vera Ritter Stiftung Hamburg, was awarded to Alexander Weiskopf (Germany). The Lions Club Ludwigslust donated the third prize of €2500, which was awarded to Yomoon Youn (South Korea). The fourth prize, donated by Roland und Matthias Penzel went to Igor Šajatović, Croatia.
The audience prize of the city of Ludwigslust went to Yomoon Youn (South Korea). All the finalists will perform as soloists with European orchestras.

The level of the 46 candidates met the highest international standards. 80 double bassists from all over the world had applied for the competition. The internationally acclaimed jury was comprised of Jeff Bradetich, Christiane Hutcap, Christine Hoock, Hiroshi Ikematsu, Dorin Marc, Dan Styffe, Emil Tabakov and Gunars Upatnieks.

The Sperger Competition is one of the most important competitions for the double bass and is carried out biennially – the next competition will take place in the summer of 2020.

The patrons of the competition are Thomas Hengelbrock, founder and director of the Balthasar Neumann Ensembles and Chef associé of the Orchestre de Paris, and Birgit Hesse, minister for education and culture of Mecklenburg-West Pomerania.

Press release of the International J.M. Sperger Society, 12.05.2017

International Johann Matthias Sperger Competition for Double Bass in Ludwigslust, Germany Principal conductor of the NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchestra and Minister for Education, Science and Culture take over joint patronage

The biennial International Johann Matthias Sperger Competition for Double Bass is among the most important competitions for this instrument worldwide. Preparations for its tenth edition - taking place from 22 to 28 July 2018 - are running at full steam.

In September 2016 Christine Hoock was elected the new president of the Sperger Society. Apart from her teaching activity - she is Professor of Double Bass at the prestigious Mozarteum University of Salzburg - she enjoys international renown as a unique artist of the double bass.

In Christine Hoock´s words: “ We are pleased to announce that we were able to secure Thomas Hengelbrock, principal conductor of the NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchester in Hamburg, as our new patron. He takes over this office as the direct successor to the late Nikolaus Harnoncourt, who passed away in 2016. We also welcome an additional patron: Birgit Hesse, minister of education, sciences and culture of the state of Mecklenburg-West Pomerania.” Hengelbrock´s resumé is impressive - he is the founder and director of the Balthasar Neumann Ensemble, as well as associate conductor of the Orchestre de Paris. Already in his time as artistic director of the Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen, director of the Feldkirch Festival, and more recently as the music director of the Vienna Volksoper, Hengelbrock created innovative programmes that shattered existing boundaries between genres and forms. Minister Birgit Hesse devotes her energies to the “music state” of Mecklenburg-West Pomerania. Already a patron of the Schönburger Musiksommer festival, and now with her patronage of the International Sperger Competition, she dignifies these musical events with fitting respect.

„Internationale J.M. Sperger Society e. V.“
Statement Description: Donation + Name + Address
Bank Institute: Kreissparkasse Stade
IBAN: DE95241511160000240440

Our website uses cookies to make your visit to our website as pleasant as possible and to provide the best possible service. If you continue on our website, you agree to the use of cookies.
More information Ok Decline